New To The Interesting World Of History Hunting

Saskquatch

Hi folks, I am quite new to hunting for fossils/Bones/Etc however now that my children are old enough to walk distances, we are having a great time searching. This year we had a huge flood which ran 18 plus feet of torrential current through parts of the Qu'Appelle system here in Saskatchewan and eroded 100's of years of soil from the sides of the remote river banks. We went out on probably a 15-20 mile hike last weekend and found 100's of buffalo bones including 5 horns/parital skulls and dozens of teeth, and a perfect spear head/point. Although we did not carry many of the other bones back with us (or damage them), they are literally 10-50 feet apart along the entire dry sandy river bottom and banks.

We are planning on going out again this weekend and taking our time to search for more interesting items and was wondering if anyone had any advice on what to specifically look for. Thanks in advance

wondering if anyone had any advice on what to specifically look for...

Suggest that you not consider what others might find interesting

and focus on what you find of interest. Collect the specimens and

take pictures to share and discuss.

:pic:

We all are not focused on the same subject. Collect what you find

interesting and then share images for discussion. In doing so, you

may discover new interests. :)

Good Hunting

Barry

Flash from the Past (Show Us Your Fossils)
MAPS Fossil Show

...We are planning on going out again this weekend and taking our time to search for more interesting items and was wondering if anyone had any advice on what to specifically look for. Thanks in advance

If I were you, I would collect representative specimens of all the bones that I could find. Teeth and jaws are the things that most collectors find interesting. I like the tarsals and carpals (the ankle bones), particularly the articulating sets (even if composite) of these bones.