Confused Newbie Here

sundance

Hi all, i am new to this site and very new to collecting fossils. I am from Scotland and while on holiday on the east cost of England i came across this embeded in a lump of clay, there were other fossils around it which i have identified but this has stumped me, i thought it was a tooth at first but i really am unsure. it feels very smooth and quite heavy for its size (9 grams) There is a deffinate break point on it. Any help would be much apreciated, Thank you. (If it is just a lump of nothing, please feel free to say so!!)

Cheers

Ian

post-653-1217622402_thumb.jpgpost-653-1217622507_thumb.jpgpost-653-1217622553_thumb.jpgpost-653-1217622580_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the forum! doesn't look like any fossil i am familiar with but someone here will surely be able to help you.

ArtofExtinction

ArtofExtinction

I really dont know what it could be. It kinda looks like a piece of Flint. I know there are some people on here that are more knowledgable with that area too. Maybe they could help more.

Justin

Thanks, i am pretty sure its not flint, and i have seen some tektite before which i dont think it resembles but i could be wrong (according to my wife i am always wrong!! <_< ) Thank you for your help so far :)

I would have to agree with N.AL.hunter on this one. I'm sure it is not a fossil, but the way you described it being rather heavy for its size and the look of it has me thinking extraterrestrial too.

Looks an awful lot like a piece of one of the iron meteorites to me too! I don't know anything about the geology where it was collected so I can't say that it is obsidian or one of the other types of volcanic 'glass'.

-Joe

Illigitimati non carborundum

Fruitbat's PDF Library

It is heavy, appears to be homogenous, and is amorphously eroded or ablated; tektite/meteorite should be under serious consideration.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant