How Best To Search For Larger Shark Teeth

Spooky1

As a rookie I haven't had much luck finding any larger shark teeth yet in the Calvert Cliffs areas. I use a sifter (in shallow water) and stroll the edge of high tide and find lots of interesting stuff but no big teeth (Mako or Meg).

So do you find them more often in the water, at the high tide mark or is it just being at the right place at the right time? :unsure:

No matter where you collect shark teeth I can give you one piece of advice that will outperform all others: GET THERE FIRST. There is an obvious collecting bias for the biggest teeth so the first set of eyes often gets the biggest and the best. You could couple this with hunting night low tides with a flashlight or snorkeling/scuba diving during the day if the viz is good enough. Beyond that just put in your time and make a special point of being first after a big noreaster.

Grüße,

Daniel A. Wöhr aus Südtexas

"To the motivated go the spoils."

Be the first one on the beach after a good storm, especially late winter (when the collecting pressure is lighter). Walk the water's edge at a new or full moon low tide, and turn stuff over.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

what they said.

That's the case for just about anywhere you can find Megs.

Be the first there after a nice storm. That's how all the megs in my avatar were found. (+ 2 more since then) But I search in streams

Guest bmorefossil
No matter where you collect shark teeth I can give you one piece of advice that will outperform all others: GET THERE FIRST.