What Are The Must Have Tools When Hunting Road Cuts?

fossiljunkie

hello all,

after having been a stream bed fossil hunter all my life i find now that i have relocated that i really have to try to find and concentrate on road cuts if i intend to find any fossils.and even then they will be hours away.i don't want to give up my love of fossil hunting just because i have moved to another state.

can anyone tell me how to begin this process? what tools are absolute must haves in your car when you go? i know rock hammer, bucket,etc but what else should i get together to have with me. my primary area of interest is northwest georgia and the chattanooga area of tennessee. i really feel like an absolute newbie having to switch from almost exclusively pliocene,miocene,pleistocene vertebrate fossils in stream beds by digging sifting, to invertebrate fossils in road cuts where i am clueless at this point as to where to start. as well as my lack of knowledge of invertebrates.

i am excited about having to learn all about fossils i am unfamiliar with but i'm just at a sticking point right now as to where to go and how to search once i actually get to a location a well as what to bring along.

does anyone hunt southwest georgia/chattanooga road cuts that wouldn't mind being a mentor? i primarily would like to hunt road cuts where trilos were possible. i would be grateful and would bring along an assortment of shark teeth from my collection as a token of appreciation. thanks

Today's the day!

Mel Fisher

Hey Fossiljunkie,

You may consider joining a club to help get you started.

They usually organize field trips, and have knowledge of sites and access permission to sites that may not other wise be collectable.

Also this book may have some info for you. See if you can get it, or this one, at your local library.