North Sulphur River Texas

rastapop

• New Members

Hi; this is my first post.

I made an interesting visit to this site, and wanted to share this. I am really not an expert and bad at identifying them, maybe you can confirm my suspicions.

I see there teeth of course (mosasaur and shark from what I know about this site),

post-8953-0-72079200-1341793903_thumb.jpg

bones and cartilage fragments. I think the one at the bottom is a piece of rib.

post-8953-0-69996400-1341793907_thumb.jpg

petrified wood ? For some of them, it's just the nature of the rock that led me to think it is wood.

post-8953-0-41690600-1341793923_thumb.jpg

ammonites.

post-8953-0-41710500-1341793912_thumb.jpgpost-8953-0-73488100-1341794065_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the forum.

The North Sulphur River is a wonderful location, isn't it. It looks like you made a pretty good haul during your visit.

I don't seem to see as many posts about stuff coming out of there as I used to. Maybe it's just been picked over pretty good and needs a good rain to replenish the fossils.

SWard
Southeast Missouri

(formerly Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX)

USA

Welcome aboard, and thanks for the show!

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

• New Members

Thanks. Yes this is a very nice location. Very easy. Maybe too easy. I wasn't alone there by the way. It had rained during the night I think, as I could tell the difference in the water level and the dampness between the moment I arrived and the moment I left.

I don't know the site and the best places, so I walked a bit along the river, but the most interesting findings I made were right at the bottom of the stairs that lead to the river.