Lack Of Teeth?

Raistlin

I have been wondering something now that I have been hunting for fossils for a few months. It might be a stupid question but I just cannot figure it out without some expert help.

Why is there such a lack of teeth when hunting fossils? I of course do not mean in areas like STH or even at the beach but in other areas.

Let me explain a bit. I am hunting areas that are Ordovician to Mississippi I find tons of other marine animals. I know there were fish and sharks (yes I know they are fish also lol) but yet I do not find teeth. There are a few areas where I should find sharks teeth and really don't but what about fish teeth also?

It seems teeth are pretty hard and seem to stand up well in the earth (maybe it is the enamel). Should I not be seeing small fish teeth as well? Is there a lack of teeth or is it just my silly thoughts?

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks.

Robert
Southeast, MO

There are sharks teeth in the areas you are hunting, at least what is Mississippian in age. I have found a total of one that looks like the traditional sharks tooth. Other teeth are more common, the grinding type, which I have seen but haven't picked up.

Keep in mind that the "fish" that were in the ordovician were not the "fish" of today. Many lacked teeth and jaws entirely, and the apex predators were not fish in form at all, but rather cephalopods.

Modern toothy fish didn't become common until much later. It was a very different ocean back then.

Brent Ashcraft

ashcraft, brent allen

Ahh OK so it is a lack of teeth because they had a lack of teeth. I did not realize this I somehow was getting time lines mixed or something.

I am interested in what the grinding teeth look like though. I might have seen one of these and not thought it to be a fossil.

Thanks for the explination.

Robert
Southeast, MO