Peace River Bone Needs An I.d.

lordpiney

Hey everyone...

Last December i got to do my first Peace river hunt, thanks to the help of a great fellow fossil enthusiast. among the shark teeth, and other assorted fossils, i found this small bone. my question is...is it Amphibian, Mammalian, or Avian? if more pics are needed...just let me know.

996de975.jpg

985c0ee7.jpg

6ed13c64.jpg

Looks like a metacarpal/metatarsal from a mammal...From there it's pretty much guessing. Looks similar to some dire wolf ones I have, only a lot smaller. Perhaps its some kind of carnivoran.

youtube-logo-png-46031.png

I will probably be wrong, I'm pretty new to this, that being said. It looks avian to me, possibly a ulna from a wing??? I'm not familiar with the different species in that area but maybe I can narrow it down a little! BTW, very cool congrats!

I am no expert, but the thinness of this bone speaks against a metatarsal or metacarpal. It looks like a long bone (femur, tibia, humerus radius or ulna) from a small creature, maybe frog? Bird arm bones are usually fused into wierd things that don't look like this at all.

I am no expert, but the thinness of this bone speaks against a metatarsal or metacarpal. It looks like a long bone (femur, tibia, humerus radius or ulna) from a small creature, maybe frog? Bird arm bones are usually fused into wierd things that don't look like this at all.

Good to know Scylla, I thought about a metacarpus but the joint didn't look quite right.... When you say fused into weird things what do you mean?

Oh, the carpometacarpus I think its called, like all the carpals, metacarpals and phalanges rolled into one! Idid not mean to say this is not a bird bone, just that I do not know enough bird anatomy to even guess :P If it is a metatarsal or metacarpal it seems to be from some very gracile creature...