Fossil Storage

acfd698

Hey All,

What are some good ways to store fossils? I am new to this as I just found a ton of foosils on our farm we just moved to and we are still digging up more. So I am looking for ways to store them and sort them so I don't get to lost in this collection. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Werner

I collect carboniferous plant fossils to from the UK.... The trick is when you start collecting (which you always learn later) is to only keep the best ones in your collection stored properly and then maybe the rest/surplus in boxes for trading later when you see something you want or even give to the local schools or museum... Keep a good representation of the fauna of the exposure and then as you find better examples of each species you may chop and change or add to the collection as you go... maintaining all the best stuff so its easily accessible to view and study...

Theres a thread on catalogging your collection on here somewhere... where there is lots of advice from seasoned collectors....

As they are shale examples I would also invest in a small electric tile cutter and trim off any rock thats not needed carefully from around the specimens so they dont take up too much room... a small grinder/sander can also be used to shape the shale pieces to like I have done in some of the examples in the drawers below...Its a great hobby for all the family and the collection from your own land is something to be proud of... Maybe download a free photo editing package to reduce the pixel size of your photos and show us some of your specimens... I'm not on facebook so I cant see... (that I know of anyway lol)

These are collector drawers from a unit containing a dozen or so drawers that keep things neat...

post-1630-0-96287500-1355043025_thumb.jpg post-1630-0-45454800-1355043068_thumb.jpg

post-1630-0-55548400-1355043090_thumb.jpg

Cheers Steve... And Welcome if your a New Member... :)