The Fossil Bags For Kids.

Raistlin

I got the chance today to hand out the fossil bags I have been putting together for a few months now. I did not gather all the fossils by myself though there was help from a few members here as well. I was going to name them, but was not sure if they wanted to be named as some like to remain anonymous when they give. I will let them decide if they want to be known for contributing to the bags. Some stuff I found myself and other stuff I bought.

It was pretty cool though see the faces on the kids when I brought the bags in. They asked what they could do with them and got really excited when I told them they could keep them and take them home. They asked what a few things were and I explained to them and told them the common name of things (some had more information written on each fossil bag). The sharks teeth were the greatest hit I think at least while I was there and they were looking through their bags.

Here is a list of everything on the bags.

1 magnifying glass

4 "dino dollars"

2 tiny ammonites

1 Smithville gastropod

2 Smithville Ceratopa unguis operculum

1 Partial trilo from Topanga canyon formation

1 Brachiopod

1 Turritella

1 partial Redfieldius gracilis fish from Durham, CT

3 Pentremites sp. blastoid

50+ sharks teeth

5 Horn corals (from different places)

Several partial Eldredgeops rana cephalons and pygidiums

6+ fossil ray teeth

4 Archimedes screws

Several megalodon tooth fragments

several crinoid stem parts (from different places)

1 tiny enrolled Acastoides trilobite from Morocco

Several bits of Rhombopora bryozoan

Here are some photos.

The bags.

SDC10571_zpsc9fd0446.jpg

The stuff inside the bags.

SDC10572_zps4d1e4caf.jpg

SDC10573_zps4f1e6ecd.jpg

SDC10574_zps5947b19a.jpg

SDC10575_zps8e1e0473.jpg

The kids with their bags.

SDC10576_zps0b177ff6.jpg