Newcomer From Maryland

jbstedman

Greetings from Maryland. I am new to fossil collecting and trying to focus on shark teeth, though other kinds of fossils keep getting in the way. Just had the wonderful experience of joining Mark Renz on a hunt in Florida -- lots of teeth and so many other things.

Besides fossils,

I collect roadcuts,

Stream beds,

Winter beaches:

Places of pilgrimage.

Jasper Burns, Fossil Dreams

Welcome to the forum, Mark is a great guide glad you enjoyed it post some pictures of your better fossils and don't forget to add yourself to the members map.

Being new to the hunt and not yet a member of a club, I have been spending my time at the usual public places on the Bay -- Bayfront, Breezy, Flag Ponds, Calvert, and Matoaka; as well as Purse State Park on the Potomac. Of course, we lose a number of these places once summer ends.

Besides fossils,

I collect roadcuts,

Stream beds,

Winter beaches:

Places of pilgrimage.

Welcome to the forum, JB!

I've often wondered if a boat would let a collector access places on the Bay and on the many smaller bays and rivers that feed Chesapeake Bay. I have read that there are many bluffs (cliffs) in the area which make the beach impossible to access from the land side.

What's the situation there on the Chesapeake?

-------Harry Pristis

http://pristis.wix.com/the-demijohn-page

What seest thou else

In the dark backward and abysm of time?

---Shakespeare, The Tempest

Welcome aboard. :) When you find time, we would appreciate photos. -- Thanks

-----"Your Texas Connection!"------

Fossils: Windows to the past

Guest bmorefossil
Being new to the hunt and not yet a member of a club, I have been spending my time at the usual public places on the Bay -- Bayfront, Breezy, Flag Ponds, Calvert, and Matoaka; as well as Purse State Park on the Potomac. Of course, we lose a number of these places once summer ends.

Have you had any luck? What kind of fossils do you have?

Guest bmorefossil