Is This A Real Or Fake Raptor Claw?

SupraTT6s

• New Members

I needed more expert help since I have no training or experience in this area. This is listed as authentic but for the price, I wanted more advice!

D472CA69-5FA0-48CD-B951-C267B7C0AC51-3591-000002128D512ADA.jpg

A5BF70F5-89AE-4DEC-BBF1-A2C677217099-3591-0000021274D43879.jpg

82B058A9-D823-4AC4-8D6D-7AE2C2430854-3591-000002126AA27061.jpg

207CD3D2-39F3-429F-8702-B54684927C4E-3591-000002127BFAC286.jpg

6FE76804-74E6-49A7-A79B-E89DF53FB6C7-3591-0000021287705E3C.jpg

Your help is greatly appreciated!

Hmmm. I would do the hot needle test. Should not affect bone. Even if the mojority of this specimen is bone, there may be restored parts. Have you tried a UV light. I am sure some of the folks on the forum will have some great suggestions.

Just noticed this may not be in your possession yet. Just from the photos, looks pretty good to me.

Edited by DeloiVarden

• New Members

It's not in my possession so I'm hoping some fossil experts can chime in and help lead me in the right direction. I know site unseen is pretty difficult do I'm looking for a strong educated guess since I won't have to the physical possession until I buy it. Thank you again everyone!

It looks to my eye as if there have been substantial restorations to the piece. I think I can see areas that have been repaired with putty.

The tip of the claw looks like it may have been restored to me.

I agree, but I think that it extends along the top. The blu-tack should probably be a red flag.