Peace River Florida

capebretonishome

Hi

would like to hear suggestions on who to take tour with while in florida during april to may1st 2013, would like to know what i would expect to find on the peace river.. This is my first time doing this and would like to have a wonderful time, there are 2 of us. any help would be great

Thanks for your time

Diane

Greetings From Cape Breton Island

Diane,

I only have experience with Mark Renz at Fossil Expeditions. I went with him in November and I'm going back for 2 more days 2 weeks from now. (The fact that I going back should say a lot about the first experience)

Mark is an outstanding guide with unmatched knowledge. What you'll find is a complete guess. It's like fishing - just because you didn't catch the big fish doesn't mean it's not there!

On my first trip, another couple found a decent meg and a couple of worn halves. I found: tapir tooth, 2 croc teeth, a couple of fish mouthpieces, a bunch of smaller shark teeth( lemon, tiger, bull, Hemi), a lot of Dugong ribs and bone material, some nice turtle shell pieces. You shouldn't plan on going anywhere and wading knee deep through huge Meg's. there are certainly meg teeth in the areas Mark will take you, but whether or not you'll find any is really up to chance. Being with Mark (or any other reputable guide) will certainly increase your odds, and I KNOW Mark will make your day a memorable one.

Joe

I'll second Mark. He took out about twenty from ScubaBoard and it was a hoot! He has a good eye and a great sense of humor. If you dive, you're not far from Venice Beach Fl and the "Boneyard".

Pete "NetDoc" Murray

Scuba Instructor/Trainer/Evaluator

NetDoc@ScubaBoard.com

I will third Mark Renz....I have gone on 5 trips in the past three years with Mark. He is very knowledgeable - but most importantly, he is very pleasant to be around.

My advice for the peace river is to not have expectations your first trip...it is somewhat of a game of luck.

Enjoy