Ive Been Asked To Help Lead A Fossil Hunt....tips Needed Please.

DE&i

I've been asked to help lead the fossil hunt at Kings dyke nature reserve in a couple of weeks time.I've never done anything like this before , feel quite honoured but also nervous any tips would be appreciated.

Kind regards,

Darren.

Regards.....D&E&i

The only certainty with fossil hunting is the uncertainty.

https://lnk.bio/Darren.Withers

I am not surprised Darren, you are doing rather well in the Oxford Clay and have an array of knowledge of the formation. Make sure you keep everyone safe, and touch up on the common fossil names so if asked to ID something you will most likely be able to ID and expand on it. Best of luck!

Regards,

Just one thing: Don't dive down in front of one of your group and eagerly grab a fossil that they were just about to find - this happened to me once! Bad form..

Darren... Congratulations it will make the day even more enjoyable sharing your passion and knowledge... I hope it all goes well and plenty fossils are found...

Cheers Steve... And Welcome if your a New Member... :)

It depends on if the group is experenced. If not

First the mandatory safety speach.

Define the area.

Explain the diffrent fossil bearing layers in the area

Bring extra tools that can assist in the hunt.

Talk up anything they find.

Perhaps bring along a couple of specimens from the area to give the group an idea of what to look for.

Mike

• I found this Informative 1

Well Done, Darren!

I would also try to make a hand out explaining (briefly) what you are saying, as to info on the layers/formation, and also maybe a list of what can be expected to be found, with pics if possible.

People find more when they know what to look for.

It doesn't have to be fancy, just a few sentences on each point, and some pics of typical finds in the area.

Best of luck - I'm sure you will do great!

Regards,

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER