Sulphur River After The Rain?

MFowler

I'm new to fossil hunting but have heard that after a good rain is the best time to go t o the NSR. We were there last weekend for our first hunt and had a GREAT time and got some good stuff...I think anyway. Was thinking about driving up tomorrow to check it out and bring back some buckets of full to let the kids sift through at the house. Thoughts? Ideas? Tips?

Thanks...only been on one trip and I'm hooked :-) Already been planning trips to other locals around DFW. I think my wife's a little concerned :-)

The Sulphur River is a great place to hunt, I would suggest going to the 19/24 bridge, the road from Greenville to Paris. There is a pull off on the east side to the road headed north that will bring you right up to the channel, please stop where the road ends as the drop off is quite high and will ruin your trip, LOL. There is a path along the bank headed east where you will find a walk down to the river bottom, it is steep and if it has rained, slick. There is good gravel, look for arrowpoints, shark teeth , etc. This area is also noted for it's grey mudball that sometimes contain fossils but always calcite crystals so a hammer is suggested if this interests you. Have fun----Tom

Grow Old Kicking And Screaming !!
"Don't Tread On Me"

That's great advice...exactly what I was looking for! Thanks Tom, I really appreciate it. A shark tooth is my "White Whale" and I think I found everything but last weekend...even a great arrowhead.