Good Fossil Sites In Central/west Texas?

Johnny75

• New Members

I'm a geologist with a dinosaur and fossil crazy 6 year old little girl. In the past I've found some pretty good fossils near Ft. Worth and a small town near Brownwood called Bangs while working in the oil field. I can't remember exactly where I was near Bangs when I found a great outcrop of Penn. gastropods, ammonites, crinoids, bryzoa, etc.....I was looking for a site within a reasonable distance for a day trip to fossil hunt with my daughter. I'd love to go back and look for more Penn. ammonites, but she'd love finding all the cool gastropods and everything else. How hard are the good sites near the Brownwood dam to get to? Restrictions? Also, I think I read something a while back about a shale pit somewhere near Coleman, TX where you could find shark teeth. That would be fun for her too.

Thanks in advance for any information.

Welcome to the forum!

If your daughter is interested in Pennsylvanian ammos, gastropods, crinoids, "and everything else" as you mention, you can't beat the spillway at Jacksboro. It may be a bit of a drive, but well worth it. Quantity and quality, to boot.

Hopefully, some other members will chime in with some possible locations a little closer to you.

Keep us posted on your adventures and show us some of your finds.

SWard
Southeast Missouri

(formerly Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX)

USA