Ammonite And Other Id Please

ViridianFish

Hi Everyone,

This is my first ever post, and I just wanted to let you all know that I am new to fossil hunting, but enjoy it very much. It is quite difficult for me to do on a regular basis as I live in an area of Australia that has very few interesting geological deposits, and is very low in available fossils.

On a recent trip to the Uk I visited Folkestone, but as it was the middle of summer at the time, there was very little recent exposure at the base of the cliffs due to lack of rainfall. I know nothing I found here is particularly impressive, but I would love to know exactly what they are.

They were all found in the Gualt Clay or on the foreshore.

I'm thinking the Ammonite could be either a Euhoplites lautus or an ahoplites planus. It is around 2.3cm in diameter.

Ammonite.jpg

The first Belemnite Guard is almost exactly 3cm in length.

Belemnite.jpg

• The small belemnite is 2cm. I think it is a Neohibolite.

Neohibolite #2.jpg

Neohibolite.jpg

• Finally, a tiny ammonite. It is only around 0.8cm in diameter. I found a few of these.

Tiny ammonite.jpg

• I can take more photos in better lighting if needed.

• Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Thanks,

Alice

The first belemnite I believe to be Neohibolites ernsti, and the second "small" one is Neohibolites minimus I think. Ask me not about the ammonites; I don't collect them often enought to be able to give you any information. Talk to Thomas about the ammonites from the Gault Clay.

All the best,

Thomas

The first belemnite I believe to be Neohibolites ernsti, and the second "small" one is Neohibolites minimus I think. Ask me not about the ammonites; I don't collect them often enought to be able to give you any information. Talk to Thomas about the ammonites from the Gault Clay.

All the best,

Thomas