Hunting On Highway Roadsides

tperry87

Hello, I am interested in stopping and rock hunting on highway roadsides where the rock is exposed by the construction of the highway. Is this legal? Do I need permission? I'm new to this and would like to see what I can find in my area of the state. I live in eastern Kansas. Thank you.

Edited by tperry87

Hi tperry87,

You cannot stop on Interstates, but I haven't had any trouble on smaller highways as long as there is a place to park well off of the road and not creating any obstructions or distractions to traffic.

However, it is always at the police's discretion whether they pay no mind or stop to ask what you are doing. They may tell you to move along.

Also, be aware that private property is often adjacent to highways, and landowners may question you, or even call police to investigate.

Just remember to always think safety for yourself and motorists.

And welcome from Lansing, Ks.

Good luck! :)

Steve

Drive a white pickup. Throw out some orange cones. Don a hardhat and orange vest. Carry a clipboard. No one will mess with you.

Drive a white pickup. Throw out some orange cones. Don a hardhat and orange vest. Carry a clipboard. No one will mess with you.

Ha! :)

Or instead of a clipboard, one could bring a trash bag and pick up litter along the roadside. You can collect some fossils along with the wrappers and bottles. And if a trooper stops to question what you're doing, you can show him the half-full bag instead of a blank clipboard. Of course, I'm not necessarily recommending this to anyone. :)

Context is critical.