I Have A Question About Amber?

Lawdinfamous

Hey guys I am a complete amateur but I was wondering if there is amber to be found in northeast Mississippi. I have a piece of something that resembles amber that my girlfriend found in Chewapa Creek today. Its smaller than a penny very cylindrical and it is very translucent when you shine a light on it.

There are several "tests" that identify amber. They can distinguish it from the confusing mimics. The first I would try is to determine its relative weight, This is easy, amber will float in salt water. Trying this will rule out a translucent mineral. Rub it on a wool item. Does it develop a static charge (e,g, attract small bits of tissue)? Amber will. Next, apply a small drop of acetone (fingernail polish remover, check the ingredients). Let it evaporate and press a piece of tissue on the spot. Amber is impervious, modern resins will be sticky. If nothing happens it may be amber. To see if it's a synthetic (plastic) touch it with a red hot needle. Obviously, this will mar the piece, so your choice. Plastic will smell like burning plastic. Amber will emit a sweet, pine smell. Good luck. Have fun.

I was not familiar with amber deposits in Mississippi. A cursory search revealed a record of Cretaceous amber found in Tishomingo Co. Don't know if that's near you or not.

Edited by snolly50
  • I found this Informative 2

Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, also are remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so. - Douglas Adams, Last Chance to See

Thank you sir. That was very helpful! I am about to use the information you gave me to make some determinations now!

Ok. I heated the piece up and it split down the middle. It didn't burn or make any kind of smell. This is what the split pieces looks like.

That looks very similar to a section of a belemnite split down the middle. Note the phragmocone space at the bottom of the picture.

Best regards,