These Are Rebbachisaurus Garasbae's Tooth ?

dino555

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to fossils.

These are REBBACHISAURUS GARASBAE tooth ?

Thanks for all your help!

post-15612-0-06629300-1403068401_thumb.jpg

post-15612-0-44904100-1403068541_thumb.jpg

post-15612-0-38480200-1403068556_thumb.jpg

post-15612-0-33705600-1403068569_thumb.jpg

You do have what appears to be sauropod teeth and looking at the preservation guessing from Morocco's Kem Kem Beds. These type of teeth are typically sold as Rebbachisaurus and may be. However, isolated teeth are always difficult to pin on a specific species unless there are diagonistic characteristics present especially from that region. What I can say is that they are Diplodocoidea type teeth and a good chance of being from a Rebbachisaurus species.

The same article that only tentatively identified a pterosaur tooth from Morocco (Kellner and Mader, 1997) also figures a tooth similar to your specimen though the one in the article is less complete. It is noted as having a morphology "generally consistent with that of diplodocid teeth..." but adds "equally possible that [it] belongs to a titanosaurid." The article also points out that Rebacchiosaurus garasbae is not known from tooth remains but someone must have learned that a sauropod had been described from Morocco and a dealer wrote that name on the label. Dealers visit each other at shows and look at each other's websites. Some just copy names for fossils that they did not know before instead of checking to see if could be correct.

Fossil collecting is like art collecting or antique collecting in that at some point you need to become your own expert especially if you're going to specialize in dinosaur teeth - greater chance to make an expensive mistake.

Kellner, A.W and B.J. Mader. 1997.

Archosaur teeth from the Cretaceous of Morocco. Journal of Paleontology. 71 (3):525-327.

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to fossils.

These are REBBACHISAURUS GARASBAE tooth ?