What Are These Holes?

fossils4fun

Hi fossil friends, I walk by this big rock every time I go fossil hunting and I am always wondering, what are these holes?

The rock is about 2 feet tall and 2 or 3 feet wide. The holes are about 4 or 5 inches across.

If anyone knows I would really appreciate it, it's driving me crazy, thanks so much and have a great new year. :)

post-15631-0-16157800-1419716548.jpg

post-15631-0-13888800-1419716559.jpg

post-15631-0-15952200-1419716573.jpg

post-15631-0-36205500-1419716585.jpg

post-15631-0-37332500-1419716593.jpg

It would help if you could post some larger, more detailed photos and also tell us something about the locality and the geological formation and age where it is lying. Was it transported there or did it derive from the local layers?

Edited by Ludwigia

Greetings from the Lake of Constance. Roger

http://www.steinkern.de/

Let me try again with the pictures, I'm new at this so it may take a little while, thanks. :)

It was not transported here, a natural formation to the area, the place is Northwest Arkansas and I have a lot of sandstone with impressions in them, I hope that helps a little.

They could be gas bubbles that were entrained in the sediment.

post-423-0-06732800-1419718219_thumb.jpg

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

It may just be from dripping water? That would be my guess. That or there may once have been some type of bivalve that has long since dissolved into nothing.

Dang that is neat looking. Is it a sandstone???

I'm guessing without hearing more that it looks like the weathering phenomena of a limestone/carbonate rock. Rain water dissolving the rock and maybe that process is enhanced mechanically by some freeze/thaw during the winter over the years..