My Mahantango PA Mystery Fossil

married2rick

I found this fossil in Juniata County, Pa.

I cannot find anything online that remotely resembles it.

It is about 3" long and 3/4" wide.

post-6072-0-80656000-1446512262_thumb.jpg

Domed chamber wall; cephalopod. Longitudinal 'groove'; Bactrites. Mahantango; B. aciculum.

Good pull Scott!

• I found this Informative 1

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

(Remember I'm new at this so sorry if my questions are elementary)

Is this a tentacle of the cephalopod?

Here is a pic of the exposed end.

Pretty nice Bactrites!

Are you referring to the yellowish area?

That appears to be an encrusting bryozoan, called Reptaria stolonifera.

If there were tentacles, that would be soft body preservation. That happens, but not in the Mahantango formation.

Your fossil is the internal mold of the inner part of the cephalopod.

The small dot at the rounded end would be the siphuncle - a tube that ran through all of the chambers of the nautiloid that regulated water flow in each chamber.

orthocerasdrawing.jpg

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Edited by Fossildude19
  • I found this Informative 4

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

I agree.

Good IDs.

The bryozoan is tiny but very nice. :)

" We are not separate and independent entities, but like links in a chain, and we could not by any means be what we are without those who went before us and showed us the way. "

Thomas Mann