Where can I get Butvar-76 in Australia?

ElToro

I live in Perth, Oz and have called every hardware store and hobby shop. I've scoured the internet but still can't find any Butvar-76. I've fired off an email to the local museum but it may take days to get an answer. Any Aussies here that know? The Aus $ is REALLY low right now and shipping is a killer. I need a local source! Please help! (PS. I'm very new to the fossil collecting and from reading other posts on TFF this Butvar-76 appears to be the best stuff.) I'll pay US costs if I have to cause i love my fossils to bits. Hence the need for a consolidant, but has to available somewhere here!

Edited by ElToro

"That belongs in a museum!"

- Indiana Jones

Here is a supplier I use. he has 1/2 lb - 8oz. backs he sells for $10 US. I don't think shipping would be much for that small of an amount. 8oz. will make alot for an amature.You could buy a lb. or two and split it and sell it to other fossil collectors down south. A lot of Aussies on the Forum.

http://www.conservationsupportsystems.com/product/show/acryloid-paraloid-b-72/acryloid

Here is a link for how to dilute your B-72 granules. You should be able to get the Acetone and Alcohol locally. The B-72 chips are just dry plastic like material and no hazardous charges exist.

http://www.connectingtocollections.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Davidson_and_Brown_2012_Paraloid_B-72-_Practical_tips_for_the_vertebrate_fossil_preparator.pdf

Hope this helps.

Ziggie

• I found this Informative 1

Here is a supplier I use. he has 1/2 lb - 8oz. backs he sells for $10 US. I don't think shipping would be much for that small of an amount. 8oz. will make alot for an amature.You could buy a lb. or two and split it and sell it to other fossil collectors down south. A lot of Aussies on the Forum.

http://www.conservationsupportsystems.com/product/show/acryloid-paraloid-b-72/acryloid