Looking for advice on prepping Needmore Fm trilobites

Minerva8918

Hi everyone! I'm a complete newbie when it comes to prepping, so any help is greatly appreciated!

I have some trilobites, trilo-bits, and trilo-butts from Devonian Needmore Formation shale from West Virginia that I'm interested in attempting some prep work on, as well as a neat solitary coral thing, and was hoping to get some suggestions on how to proceed.

I'm interested in getting an air eraser, blasting cabinet, and some Vinac (and acetone), but I want to make sure I'm getting the right tools for what I'm trying to accomplish.

So far, the only "prepping" I've done has been using a needle to pick off excess matrix that was covering some of the specimens. I may have been slightly overzealous with the needle on a few pieces (and by "may have been" I mean "was") that resulted in ugly white scratch marks on the shale. Will air abrasion help erase those marks? I've used a hard-bristled toothbrush with very limited improvement.

Example:
post-17024-0-29105200-1449432964_thumb.jpg

There are also a couple that have a bit of matrix over them that I haven't been able to get off with a needle because the matrix on that particular area seems particularly hard/tough/stubborn. Would air abrasion be sufficient for that, or is there a better option?

Example:
post-17024-0-50014900-1449435061_thumb.jpg

Here is the solitary coral thing I mentioned. In this particular shale, I know that the yellowish-orangeish material is very fragile. As you can see, the actual fossil is made of the very fragile material, and some of it has already disintegrated away, even though I haven't done anything to this particular piece. It does have some dirt on it, but I'm kind of scared to try to brush it off because I don't know if that would cause the fossil to further disintegrate. Suggestions?

I've read of people using a brush to brush on a dilute solution of Vinac. Would that be the best method for this specimen?