Removing paster jacket?

abctriplets

Ok, I am a novice to this whole fossil-prep thing....

So we found a couple of large (well, for us) bones in the field, and as they were starting to fragment a bit, we put a thin plaster jacket around it, and dug under the dirt to remove the blob, and packed the whole thing in foil.

Back home, I flipped the chunk upside down, and removed the dirt and prepped the bottom of the bone.

So now I have to do the top side...any tips on the next step? Am I over-thinking this, and the plaster hasn't bonded to the bone? :)

Did you put anything between the plaster and the fossil. Wait for experts but that might be a problem.

Edited by aerogrower
I can't spell

I actually wasn't fully watching that step. In retrospect, wouldn't Vaseline be good? We were using a PVA bonding solution earlier. But yeah, not sure if the plaster went directly on the bone or not....

If the plaster is directly on the bone, it's probably there for eternity. If there's a separator, you should be able to peel the jacket away from the bone at the edges. Post a couple pics of the edge of the jacket.

Typically, toilet paper, paper towel, or foil is used as the separator. All you are doing is creating a physical barrier between the bone and the jacket.

If the bone is extremely brittle and degraded, plaster can be poured directly on the bone with the intent for the plaster to soak in and remain on the bone to provide support with the under side being the only part prepared.

• I found this Informative 4

8 hours ago, abctriplets said:

Yeah, my wife says our guide just put the plaster strips right on the bone. Sigh.

That is either because the bone is so degraded that the only option for it to be collected was permanent plastering or it is because your guide doesn't fully understand the process of applying a field jacket.