RiverRunner

Hello!

I'm a complete amateur & need some help.

Camping in Apple River Canyon state park, Illinois in what is called the driftless area. They had a huge flood wash through the canyon a week or so before my trip, relocating tons & tons of rock.

I found a few fossils, but don't know what they are or how to clean them up.

Thanks

DSC_0452 (2).JPG

DSC_0455 (2).JPG

DSC_0456 (2).JPG

DSC_0457 (2).JPG

DSC_0458 (2).JPG

I agree with Tony - these are mostly gastropod fossils. 

Not much to be done to clean or prepare these any further. 

They are quite worn, so I'm not sure further ID is possible, either. 

Regards,

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

If I were you, Id try to find the mother outcrop these rocks came from.  You might find some superb specimens there!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Arizona Chris

Paleo Web Site:  http://schursastrophotography.com/fossiladventures.html

Agreed. When youve got rock littered with small fossils, theres a chance for bigger and better ones!

I really like the looks of the first one btw

If you're a fossil nut from Palos Verdes, San Pedro, Redondo Beach, or Torrance, feel free to shoot me a PM!

Mosasaurus_hoffmannii_skull_schematic.png

Yeah... problem is that this is a state park. I don't imagine they would take too kindly to someone chiseling away at the scenery.DSC_0437a.thumb.jpg.357c68cea5c6813ad06bbad931b336e9.jpg