Dirty Turtle-Advice For Newbie Needed.

Seattleguy

I purchased this turtle with the hopes that itd be a good project for me to build prep skills... or gain some to begin with. I am a total newbie to this, and lack equipment. I am wondering if there is a way to remove the concretion covering the fine detail on this turtle shell with materials/ equipment that can be purchased from the local hardware store? The turtle is from the Oligocene, out of the white ash in WY. The bottom shell is present and also covered in the same thin layer of cocretion so that only the outline of the plates are visable with no fine detail.

All tips welcome.

Chris

post-516-12541072965884_thumb.jpg

I am not sure, but welcome :) Most of what I find washes up at my feet so I've never been faced with that issue, maybe one day though :) I know that there are some members here that have dealt with that formation. Hopefully someone will be able to help you :)

The soul of a Fossil Hunter is one that is seeking, always.

ok, i'll post at the risk of sounding ignorant. i can't see perfectly from the photo, but it looks like the shell is all chalk. if so, that would mean that the dark area is really more of a stain than anything else, and that there are not two "layers" of different hardnesses, where one could be removed leaving the other one looking nice. but even if there were, in many cases the "cleaned" area would look different from the rest of the fossil. the effect i believe i'm seeing is common when part of a fossil is exposed to the sunlight and bleaches out and the rest of the fossil doesn't.

if i'm correct from looking at that picture, then i wouldn't try to remove anything from the fossil if it were mine. i might consider trying to lighten the stained area a bit chemically, but i probably would just leave the thing alone.