What bone is this?

Tdepasture

• New Members

I’m not ashamed to admit I'm new to this stuff. I can only assume this is a fossil because it doesn't look like a normal rock. I was recently in missouri, looking for rocks. I found this in a puddle in the road, near a rock shelf. Can anyone here tell what it is.

A051FD44-A0E2-4999-B1BC-394B7846B15D.jpeg

I'm not sure what you have there, but a possibility might be a piece of limestone or a gastropod steinkern with sponge borings (Entobia), in my thinking.

Wait for other opinions, please.

• I found this Informative 1

" We are not separate and independent entities, but like links in a chain, and we could not by any means be what we are without those who went before us and showed us the way. "

Thomas Mann

My Library

Hmm, i think there are two possibilities:

8 hours ago, abyssunder said:

I'm not sure what you have there, but a possibility might be a piece of limestone or a gastropod steinkern with sponge borings (Entobia), in my thinking.

Wait for other opinions, please.

or it is something like porous concrete (in german: Gasbeton), or other stuff for building like this.

If ignoring the possible boreholes, i see no fossil here, too. Sorry :unsure:

Agree that the holes are most likely ichno fossils. I definitely do not think it is bone. The texture is similar though.

Guessing by the weave of the denim I would say this is about 3.5 to 4.0 inches in diameter and about 2.25 inches thick. It looks like something I've seen before, but I just can't seem to place it right now. If it comes to me I'll be back with the info.

Mark.

Fossil hunting is easy -- they don't run away when you shoot at them!

Starting with an assumption of "bone", I came down with a bison cannon bone being similar in shape... WAG !!!!!

BisonCannonBone.JPG.89e18dcdb5245f666241f45e56407fba.JPG

The White Queen  ".... in her youth she could believe "six impossible things before breakfast"

45 minutes ago, Shellseeker said: