Researcher Here! Studying the sociology of fossil collecting.

DonnaY

• New Members

Hi everyone! My name is Donna Yates and I am an Associate Professor at Maastricht University in the Netherlands. I am here because I have just been awarded a European Research Council grant to study, among other things, the connection that people have to fossils from a sociological point of view. I am hoping that by understanding why people collect fossils I can begin to understand the "darker" side of things, such as fossil forgery and fossil smuggling. I'm going to mostly be working in the Americas, but I have a colleague working out of Africa and another out of Australia/New Zealand so this will be quite a global study. I am hoping to learn a lot here and have fun in the process!

About me otherwise: I'm originally an archaeologist from the USA, and I used to only study art crime, but I'm now living in the Netherlands and thinking about fossils all day long! This project is a dream come true for me. In the lead up to getting my funding I spent several weeks in Arizona, Utah, and Colorado, visiting sites, shops, museums, and fairs...just getting a feel for palaeontology generally. I also went fossil hunting for the first time and walked away with a handful of brachiopods and a "feeling" that I have only had before while doing archaeology. Since then I've gone hunting in Scotland, where I was living until January. Now there are basically mosasaurs in my backyard here in Maastricht!

There's just something indescribable about holding something so old, so ancient. I think it is that indescribable feeling that I am searching for in my research project. That's what I want to know about.

So hello again!

• I found this Informative 18

Welcome, I hope you will find exposure to this Forum a source of insight and information.

• I found this Informative 3