New paleo undergrad member

Avery

Hey hey. 

Call me Avery. I am an undergraduate paleontology student in Ottawa, ON, Canada. I have been hyperfixeated on fossils and prehistory for nearly all my life, and I am so glad to have finally made it into the field as a student, and starting next week, as an assistant researcher.

My facination started when I was 4 or 5, when my grandpa gave me a fish fossil, and my brother a mammoth tooth. As I got older and started learning more, I started to doubt the authenticity of the fossils, because why would my grandpa (a chiropractor) have a mammoth tooth, and just give it away to a sticky, clumsy, child? I talked to my mum and they are originals, apparently they had been passed down through generations, and it seems that in all likely hood, they were originally stolen/smuggled by my great x3 grandfather. VERY UNCOOL of him to do that, but also I don't think there's anyway to do anything about it: it is impossible to know where they rightfully belong.

Since then, I have garnered a small collection of fossils from local sellers and as gifts from friends/family. Besides the fish and an ungulate ankle, my collection consists entirely of trilobites and cephalopods including my most recent addition; a small Orthoceras cluster. I have never found any of my fossils myself, as I do not particularly like to go outside, and growing up in the GTA, almost all public greenspaces are nature conservations, and it is illegal to remove anything including rocks and fossils. 

For those who don't know, the Canadian Shield is a huge Precambrain craton. Precambrian stromatolites are especially abundant in the Ottawa-Gatineau area, however there are also many younger deposits containing invertebrate fossils which I want to start looking for. 

I joined the forum to look for fossil hunting tips/advice and to find suggestions for where to look in the Ottawa and Toronto region. 

(sorry for any spelling mistakes, I'm not going to read it over)