Ammonite preparation recommendations

makias

Hi all, to start -- I'm a beginner in this so excuse me if I ask things that may be obvious.

I was thinking about ways to improve this ammonite, but I wasn't sure what would be the best way forward.

Please let me know your ideas and what would you do to make it better.

Thanks!

IMG_7378.jpeg

IMG_7377.jpeg

IMG_7380.jpeg

IMG_7381.jpeg

What do you want to make better.  I don't think there is much you can do to this unless you want it to shine more.  

• I Agree 1

I agree. It doesn’t look like there’s any matrix left to remove. Whoever prepped it did a really good job. To polish or shine it anymore will be removing what shell material remains and remove remaining diagnostic features…

• Thank You 1

I'm brand spanking new on the forum, but have many years with my eye looking through a loupe for advertising agencies and commercial prepress shops prepping film negatives.

Were it mine...I would look at it in the morning...after you're wide awake but fresh. And put on your "big eyes" ... whatever magnification device you have, even some cheap 3.50 power reading glasses.  Just look at it for a bit and think it over.

I totally agree with the previous posts...it's been prepped well.  At some stage in prepping a fossil 'the point of diminishing returns' arrives. Maybe a coating of Paraloid? or a tiny test spot first? or not.

Other than that...A display stand! It's a beautiful fossil added to your collection. 

• Enjoyed 2

If it is stable, no coating is needed.

Yeah, go for a display stand!

• Thank You 1
  • I Agree 1

These are normally pretty solid ammonites. I don’t the Nacre will show any more colour if it was prepared  more. It is a lovely ammonite , I have one myself. As the other have said a stand with a ID label is all it needs. 

cheers Bobby 

• Thank You 1

Thank you all for the answers!