Making Velociraptor Tooth / Claw Necklace

Scotty-Bhoy

Hi folks

First post - absolute newbie to the subject, so please go easy on me (especially as what I propose doing may well be seen as vandalism by some!).

I have a dinosaur obsessed partner (Velociraptors in particular) and I'd like to get her a unique gift.  So I was thinking of purchasing as nice a tooth or claw as I can get my hands on and somehow attach it to a necklace.  I guess the easiest way to do this would be to drill a small hole through it, but how viable is this in reality?  I appreciate this is probably a 'depends on the example in question' question, but how likely am I to reduce a lovely piece of history into a crumbled mess?  Are these typically quite solid materials?  Would their be a preferred material between a tooth or claw?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Scott

I would recommend just getting them a raptor  tooth in a nice display case instead of ruining a nice tooth. If you drilled into a raptor tooth it would destroy the entire value of the tooth. Also you will only find raptor teeth online and no velociraptor teeth.

- Daniel 

• Thank You 1
  • I Agree 2

Youd be better off making a necklace from a cast of a real tooth or claw.   Any attempt to drill through a real one would likely cause it to shatter.  Even if successful, the tooth or claw would be far too fragile to withstand being worn like this.

• Thank You 1
  • I Agree 4

"There is no shortage of fossils. There is only a shortage of paleontologists to study them." - Larry Martin

talk to a jewelry artist.. most of them use clasps instead of drilling holes.  So much easier and non-destructive.  I do think that many of these teeth are solid enough to be worn occasionally as a necklace.  

• Thank You 1

Thanks JPC - I've since seen some designs (mainly shark teeth) that are wrapped in precious metal wiring - could well be the way to go! 

1 hour ago, Scotty-Bhoy said: