Newbie Looking For Kamp Ranch

NBRiley

Hi folks!

I'm relatively new to the Dallas area (about 4 years now) and very new to rockhounding/fossil hunting. I've done some of the basic hunting in the fossil parks, but I'm looking to branch out and find new things. I keep seeing the Atco and Kamp Ranch names thrown around, but I have no idea how to actually locate them. I understand that they are part of larger formations, but as someone who doesn't have any training in natural sciences I'm not really sure where to look. The few times I've attempted to find somewhere off the beaten path I've been unsuccessful at finding anything besides calcite. If anyone is willing to share any helpful hints or trusty references I would appreciate it!

Join the Dallas Paleontological Society; they can show you what the formations look like. 

Use the map of Texas geology and find the Eagle Ford Formation, Kef. Find the white limestones of the Austin Formation then go down section toward the Woodbine Formation toward the west. The  Kamp Ranch layer is the thickest hard layer in the middle of the Eagle Ford; it is yellowish and usually full of fossils. 

To find the Atco and fossil rich upper Eagle Ford look around the Austin and Eagle Ford contact. Creeks and rivers where you can clearly see the rocks are good places to look.

Use Google Earth to help find the Kamp Ranch. You can often see the hard slabs.

https://txpub.usgs.gov/txgeology/

IMG_0128.jpeg

Edited by DPS Ammonite
  • I found this Informative 4
  • Thank You 1

My goal is to leave no stone or fossil unturned.   

See my Arizona Paleontology Guide    link  The best single resource for Arizona paleontology anywhere.