Peace River: types of turtle shell IDs

citronkitten

Greetings,

I am working on my next display and am trying to sort through the various pieces of turtle shell. I have attempted to divide and label them as much as I can, using references I will post.  This is my first attempt at turtle shell and have relied entirely on examples and available resources, so any correction/confirmation/explanation would be most appreciated. 

On my paper (in case it's unreadable - tendonitis flaring up so handwriting quality going down), the upper half of the page is carapace, the lower half is plastron, the left half is softshell and the right half is hard shell. I included a composite image which has better focus on each quadrant (terrible lighting today), and a larger image on which I wrote my attempts at further identification. turtle shells grid.jpg

turtle shells composite.JPG

References:

This whole thread: 

This image (location directly on image):

image.png.1e4cd11c7d7a32e5d4871453cef9a90a.png

This image was very helpful:

On 11/17/2020 at 4:16 AM, Plantguy said:

Here is a picture of some costals and some unique shapes for some Florida types that you probably have in Texas as well. Note the rib ends showing at the bottoms of the Chelydra (snapper) and Apalone (soft shell)...

5fb345cf832a7_TurtlecostalsTrachemysChelydraApaloneGopherus.thumb.jpg.27784d09308a3483f9986b1ef8212ea4.jpg

And these hand-drawn diagrams I found to be most accessible:

On 12/15/2021 at 1:28 AM, digit said:

I spoke with Jack Brown today who volunteers with the FLMNH cataloging specimens. He's a mammal zoologist who has had to learn the Trachemys (slider) turtle as fossils from this are so common at the Montbrook site. He made a guide for himself that he's copied for others volunteering at the museum. He gave me permission to post this here in case others find this helpful.

Cheers.

-Ken

Trachemys_inflata.pdf 972.49 kB · 37 downloads

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Edited by citronkitten