Very strange rock

tom999w

Hi everyone, newbie here. I was walking through the woods along a creek in upstate New York and found this rock in the creek.

I've never seen anything like it, so thought I'd show it here and see if anyone can figure out what it is.

It's about 12" high. I'm thinking it may be a rock full of fossils, but I surely don't want to break it open because I don't know what I'm doing, and don't want to destroy it.

I've also searched on the internet for a couple hours and didn't find anything that resembles this

rock1.jpg

rock2.jpg

Welcome to TFF from Austria!

Nice specimen, quite unusual also to me. Could be trace fossil, sedimentary structure or tectonic structure - I don´t know!

Or even something man-made, a carving?

Franz Bernhard

Edited by FranzBernhard
  • Enjoyed 1
  • I Agree 2

The other side is just plain rock, just a smooth surface. 

Could be some sort of trace fossil.

Less likely is sedimentary structures. EDIT:  (But still possible.)

What county was this found in?

• I Agree 1

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

This was found in Sullivan County New York, in a very remote part of the woods, in a brook that had eroded the surrounding ground level about 8 feet down below the regular level of the ground surface.

The odds look good that this is a trace fossil. As viewed it would be inverted from the orientation that the shapes were created (hypo relief). 

They look rather like flute casts/sole markings but out of stratigraphic context it's hard to be sure.

• I found this Informative 2

Tarquin

Posted (edited)

It looks like something living that was in the process of movement when it was solidified.