Othniel C. Marsh

Below are two Pleistocene mammal teeth from "river gravels" in Florida. I have to further information on their age or locality, unfortunately. The left was merely identified as a "mammal tooth", and I strongly suspect it is from Trichechus manatus, but I have very little experience with mammal dentition and as such thought it would be best to check with someone with greater expertise in the field first. The right tooth was identified as a "peccary tooth", but given the fact that a number of tayassuids were present in Pleistocene Florida I wondered if the tooth could be identified to a genus, or better yet a species level.
I will now take the liberty of "@ing in" a few people: @Harry Pristis and @Shellseeker

20240314_153452.thumb.jpg.65618d17c7468006baae3c30da755fb1.jpg

20240314_153634.thumb.jpg.eadcbb960e1b4b87c09f1bd62d4985b2.jpg

Thanks in advance for any proposed ID's
Othniel

It would be much easier to identify your two teeth if each one was individual and up close, along with much better lighting, taking pictures outdoors with natural lighting can help with this. The left fossil is possibly tapir, as for the second I can't make out much detail.

Manatee is not a strong suit because I do not find them..  #1 looks a little like dugong..

#2 is is modern pig or peccary... HARD to differentiate...

This is peccary

image.thumb.jpeg.7b3b72b0149e6011ba26be695c3ae1fb.jpeg

• I found this Informative 3

The White Queen  ".... in her youth she could believe "six impossible things before breakfast"

Cropped and brightened:

20240314_153452.jpg.7b7699083718e3d35f9f1429711ff335.jpg

20240314_153634.jpg.f305e1e1072c0d57b637c06dd4310636.jpg

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015