Invertebrate Paleontologist

Buffalopterus

I am a new member from New York State and have been referred to join Fossil Forum by a very good friend of mine who goes by Darktooth. I graduated from SUNY Fredonia in 1989 with an MS in the Geological Sciences. My research has focused on Middle Devonian paleontology and stratigraphy of the Finger Lakes region of New York State. Moreover I have conducted research in the taphonomy and paleoecology of Silurian eurypterids in New York and southwestern Ontario, Canada. Most recently, I have been digitizing the Devonian fossil and lithostratigraphic collections housed at the Paleontological Research Institution in Ithaca, NY. And most importantly, I am very active in field collecting, fossil preparation and giving presentations.

Selected Publications

• Mayer, S.M., Baird, G.C. and Brett, C.E. 1994. Correlation of facies divisions in the uppermost Ludlowville Formation (Givetian) across western and central New York State in Studies in Stratigraphy and Paleontology in honor of Donald W. Fisher. New York State Museum Bulletin 481, pp. 229-264.

• Mayer, S.M. 1994. Field studies of the Middle Devonian Ludlowville-Moscow sequence in the Genesee and Seneca Valleys, New York State in New York State Geological Association Field Trip Guidebook 66th Annual Meeting, University of Rochester, pp. 491-503.

• Mayer, S.M., Baird, G.C. and Brett, C.E. 2017. Depositional environments across a central trough of the northern Appalachian Basin, Deep Run Shale Member (Moscow Formation) of the Finger Lakes in New York State Geological Association 89th Annual Meeting Field Trip Guidebook, Alfred University, pp. 56-73.

• Mayer, S.M. 2019. Paleoecology and Taphonomy of some eurypterid-bearing horizons in the Finger Lakes region of New York State in New York State Geological Association 91st Annual Meeting Field Trip Guidebook, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, pp. A2-1-20.