Digitally prepping a Pliocene gannet skull using machine learning

Doctor Mud

Hello everyone,

I have quite a few projects going on and I'm going to be a bit more active on here to share things.

Sorry I've been a bit quiet!

I see there are a few threads on here about CT scanning, 3D printing and segmentation, but I thought I would add this one. I've been doing it for a few years, but just bit the bullet and bought a machine custom built to do this.

I really think we should create a sub section of fossil preparation for CT scanning and segmentation? Resources are scattered around the internet and it would be great to document them all on here.

I have lots to learn and I'd like to "upload" this knowledge here as I aquire it. E.g. Hardware set up, software, things like digitization tips and tricks (stylus pen and tablet vs mouse). The same sort of thing we have for physical prep on here: set-up, tools and techniques.

Anyway. I just acquired a very powerful computer and I fired it up last night. I have a CT scan of a Pliocene gannet skull that was found last year that I've been sitting on. At least I think it is gannet.

I am using imageJ to do the segmentation. Segmentation is just the process of telling the computer what is bone, what is rock and what is air.

Slide3.jpg.af069141dc89672947df633f396473ca.jpg

I don't have a photo of the concretion, but here is a 3D model above. It is about 10cm long. This is looking from above.

Slide4.jpg.3941defa2d0e2dbadb992eb7a132a6ae.jpg

Here is one of 760 slices from the CT scan of the skull. A vertical slice with the top of the skull at the top of the image.  Pixel size is about 30 microns!

Slide1.jpg.42d5b39ef33b7056e3d37beaa97fa502.jpg

Here is the view after ONE round of training the computer. I selected some areas of bone, some of rock and some of air.