New Microblaster

jgcox

Well I finally took the plunge and ordered a micro blaster unit. Any helpful hints will be greatly appreciated!! It is from a company named Eons Ago. I am just getting started with this level of prep, so if anyone has experience with these units please

tell me the good and the bad. Thanks

post-11020-0-31065400-1373372092.jpg

Nice blaster, when can we use it? :envy:

No two specimens or matrix is going to give you the same results.

Try different blast medias for different specimens/matrix.

If you did not already know then protect your specimen as it is being exposed.

I have been using an industrial blast cabinet and have had some promising results

unfortunately I can not change out the blast media as needed. Company property and all that.

Walnut "crushed" is a good media as well as Bi-carbonate there are a lot of different medias you may want to try.

Experiment you will be prepping like a pro in no time. :fistbump:

Jess B.

Ramping up to the next level!

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

i like it. my setup is much more primitive.

Grüße,

Daniel A. Wöhr aus Südtexas

"To the motivated go the spoils."

I'm interested in seeing the reports. I've been eying this blaster myself. My next major purchase is going to be a piece of prep equipment, or a vibrating sieve shaker.

Great unit if everything you work on is small. Problem with these all-in-one units is you can't build a bigger box. Hope it works out well for you. Make sure you have a good air drier between the compressor and the blaster. Also, blaster-grade sodium bicarbonate or aluminum oxide will work best in this unit.

• I found this Informative 1

Would anyone have a link to this product please.

Regards,

Darren.