Protocol Question

Being an amateur I qualify for this category but that also means I'm not sure how to proceed regarding posts prior to publications. I posted a picture of a specimen here before I knew anybody was interested in it and was told that there would be a "short note" published in a journal since there is not enough of the fossil to identify or maybe not enough information for a paper. The interested party asked me to donate it, so of course I did but it will probably be some time before the note is published. I gathered from Dan's post that a normal paper can take a long time and nothing should be revealed beforehand. The question is "does this also apply to a short note"?

You are a member who contributed to science.

"I am glad I shall never be young without wild country to be young in. Of what avail are forty freedoms without a blank spot on the map?"  ~Aldo Leopold (1887-1948) 

New Mexico Museum of Natural History Bulletins    

point.thumb.jpg.e8c20b9cd1882c9813380ade830e1f32.jpg research.jpg.932a4c776c9696d3cf6133084c2d9a84.jpg  RPV.jpg.d17a6f3deca931bfdce34e2a5f29511d.jpg  SJB.jpg.f032e0b315b0e335acf103408a762803.jpg  butterfly.jpg.71c7cc456dfbbae76f15995f00b221ff.jpg  Htoad.jpg.3d40423ae4f226cfcc7e0aba3b331565.jpg  library.jpg.56c23fbd183a19af79384c4b8c431757.jpg  OIP.jpg.163d5efffd320f70f956e9a53f9cd7db.jpg

i tend to donate most readily when a) it's a new taxon and b ) a researcher is poised to begin the process immediately. until those qualifications are met, a given specimen will get personalized adulation in my private collection.

Edited by danwoehr

Grüße,

Daniel A. Wöhr aus Südtexas

"To the motivated go the spoils."

It really is up to the researcher who is going to publish it, Bob. Some don't mind, others would prefer to wait until it is published.

The plural of "anecdote" is not "evidence".