Total newb vs ebay fish fossil kit.!

canheaton

Hey guys. I ordered two green river fish kits of ebay,the two kits are totally different sources, but offer basically the same thing." I've never preped a fossil before this I my experience with the first one. I learned a lot.

Anyone know a quick fix for Android pic size.? I really would like to post my pics for the newbs that want to do their first prep.I just want to share me experience.

Ok now I got it.sorry guys. I really am a newbie. Here's what the first ebay kit slab looked like. 9" x 7". 31$

post-13914-0-28927000-1457588005_thumb.jpg

The backbone was visible as a suttle raised hump,so I thought it would be no problem to scratch my way down to it with the tool that was provided. But the tool that was provided was to flexible and crappy.I went with a small sharp file.

post-13914-0-73368100-1457588869_thumb.jpg

I started off slowly scraping the raised area where the spine should be. To my amazement and horror, I found nothing. I started to think I scraped passed it into the infanit rock below. But then I saw it!

post-13914-0-34643600-1457589551_thumb.jpg

I was oh so happy to see that first vertebrae. I spent the next few hours working the file hard!...till my fingers hurt.

post-13914-0-96546300-1457590007_thumb.jpg

• I found this Informative 1

Then I thought... Hmmmm. The fossil is deep. I'll try my dremel tool to get the bulk of the rock off. I have a diamond bit in it that look like this.

post-13914-0-14837700-1457590471_thumb.jpg

It worked amazing. It really sped up the time 10 fold, to get rid of larger amounts of rock.

post-13914-0-39677400-1457590932_thumb.jpg

So I just used my dremel to do most of the work then used the file to expose the bones. I know it's not done..AND by trying to rush through it too fast ,i messed up more then once.

post-13914-0-08812800-1457591413_thumb.jpg