Advice on how to trade fossils outside of the forum

mattbsharks

As I'm sure you all know, from my experiences interacting with the people on this forum, they tend to be very nice and reputable people, including when conducting trades and sales. I'm wondering and techniques/procedures forum members use when they are making a trade with someone that is not a part of the forum. How do you make sure someone isn't ripping you off? Are there other reliable websites where people trade fossils in relative safety of having their fossils taken? Any recommendations? Any insight at all here would help. I am pretty new to fossil trades. Thanks for taking the time to look at this!

Best,

Matt

In a trade, there are no guarantees as it is based on trust. Unless the people involved in the trade are both physically present, it does end up being about trust.

There are some steps one can take, some or all may be applicable pending  circumstance:

1. Only trade with those you trust. That is not always feasible, but it bears stating.

2. Ask questions about the piece(s), and be ready to answer questions in turn. Provide and request photos to ensure everyone knows what they are getting.

3. Provide and request tracking information on packages.

4. Don't trade away something too valuable, even if you are expecting something valuable in return. 

5. If you do choose to trade higher value items, you may wish to "test the waters" a bit by trading lower value items first.

6. Use and request packages have sufficient packing filler to avoid broken fossils.

7. Everyone should be clear about customs and laws pertaining to the import and export of fossils prior to the trade, and an agreement should be reached about what value to assign the package.

Not sure about websites for trading fossils. This place seems good enough to me. :) 

• I found this Informative 1

...How to Philosophize with a Hammer