Brachiopod? If so, what species?

sisterlama1243

• New Members

Hello,

I am new to the fossil world and I am attempting to identify this fossil which is most likely from the Lower Mississippi River Valley in Illinois. I believe it is a brachiopod though am a little confused as to the difference between brachiopods and bivalves. Is there a way to determine the specific species of brachiopod? Also, if you know any additional information I would love to learn more about this fossil!

post-22075-0-16170900-1469635327_thumb.jpg

Edited by sisterlama1243

Welcome to the Forum. :)

It is indeed a brachiopod, possibly some sort of Spiriferid.

This pic from a website explains the difference between Brachiopods and Pelecypods.

brachiopods_versus_bivalves_illustrated1

Hope that helps.
Regards,

• I found this Informative 5

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

Looks like a brachiopod to me.

There's a few differences between brachiopods and bivalves. The easiest way to tell the difference between them is their symmetry. As you can see from the image below, brachipods have their line of symmetry drawn from the top to the bottom valve, while things like clams have their line of symmetry drawn between their right and left valves. The top and bottom of a clam will be virtually identical, while in the case of brachiopods its the right and left.

Fig4.jpg

Brachiopods and bivalves belong to different phylums. Brachiopods belong to phylum brachiopoda, while bivalves are mollusks.